Lehigh University School Study Council

Lehigh University School Study Council


Consortium of Regional School Districts

Find an Event


The Lehigh University School Study Council (LUSSC) is comprised of a consortium of approximately 40 school districts, which maintain a strong commitment to participating in professional development experiences. We know this focus allows school administrators to better meet the needs of their districts and students. 

Membership meetings and the luncheon following each program provide opportunities for informal dialog with the program speaker, fellow administrators, and university faculty. Also, because programs are typically held on the Mountaintop Campus at Lehigh University, members enjoy access to one of the most scenic meeting places in the Lehigh Valley.

In 2018, LUSSC launched a partnership exclusively with school districts represented on the council to select students in our region for participation in the Lehigh University Summer Engineering Institute.


The Study Council has a history of presenting programs focused on issues that superintendents and other central office administrators address daily. Over the years, our presenters have included both national and regional educational leaders at the forefront of current issues of interest to superintendents.

If you are interested in attending our monthly program, please contact Tracy Davis at trd216@lehigh.edu.  If a district is a member of the Study Council, the first two people to attend each program are free of charge.  Additional attendees and non-Council members are welcome for $65 per person.   

Contact us

Executive Director: Dr. Mark Klein
Graduate Assistant: Tracy Davis
Secretary: Lynn Spina

Mailing: Lehigh University School Study Council (LUSSC), Iacocca Hall, 111 Research Drive, Bethlehem, PA 18015

Executive Committee

Jack Silva, Asst. Superintendent of Bethlehem Area School District
Joseph Kovalchik, Superintendent of Northampton School District
Bridget O'Connell, Superintendent of Palisades School District
Tom Seidenberger, Superintendent of East Penn School District (retired)
Kathleen Evison, Superintendent of Southern Lehigh School District
G. Kennedy Greene, Superintendent of Newton Public Schools  
Tracy Davis, Graduate Assistant

Upcoming programs

2018-2019 Program Dates
October 10th, 2018: School Culture and Security: Cultivating a Positive and Safe Environment
Dr. Maurice Elias, Rutgers University and Dr. Anthony Naradko, Parkland School District
November 14th, 2018: Politics and Possibilities Panel Discussion
Kelli Thompson, PSEA; Mark DiRocco, PASA; Jim Vaughan, PSEA; Jay Himes, PASBO
January 9th, 2019: Research to Practice: Using Data to Inform Decisions
Multiple local research to practice studies facilitated by Dr. Craig Hochbein, Lehigh University
March 13th, 2019: Personalized Learning and Digital Transformation
Dr. Scott McLeod, UC Denver and local district implementation
May 1st, 2019: State Educational Policy Updates and Prospects
Mr. Ron Cowell, The Education Policy and Leadership Center

Past speakers of national stature include Jaime Vollmer, Terry Madonna, Alexa Posney, Bruce Hunter, Charlotte Danielson, Terry Deal, Chuck Schwann, Michael Fullan, Theodore Hershberg, Lauren Resnick, Phillip Schlechty and Thomas Sergiovanni.

Annual Study Tour

Annually, a Study Tour is sponsored by the LUSSC to give members the opportunity to meet with nationally recognized leaders in the field of education and to visit school sites that demonstrate their theories in practice. The following schedule highlights the Council’s most recent professional development experiences:

2016 New York - Bank Street College
2015 Baltimore - Johns Hopkins University, Excellence and Equity for All Students
2014 New York - University of Albany, SUNY
2013 Boston - Boston University, Racing to the Top with Data: State Monitoring, University Research, and School District Implementation
2012 Pittsburgh – University of Pittsburg & Tri-State Study Council, Schools Cannot Do It Alone
2011 Washington, D.C. - The Department of Education, The Changing Federal Role In Public Education
2010 Virginia – University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Resilient, Sustainable Leadership in Challenging Times
2009 Providence  - Rhode Island College, Leadership Challenges: Increasing Student Achievement in a Changing Society 
2008 Virgina - College of William & Mary, Establishing Positive Climate and Culture to Enhance Student Learning
2007 New York - Bank Street College and Columbia Teachers College, Developing Leaders of Leaders 
2006 Toronto, Canada - University of Toronto, Determining How Leadership Influences Student Learning
2005 Boston - Harvard University, Developing Leadership Capacity
2004 Orlando - Cheri Lovre, Establishing Safe Learning Environments

Learning Research and Development, Leadership in Learning to Improve Student Achievement


Cooperative Leadership Award (The National School Development Council) Excellence in Educational Leadership Award (University Council for Educational Administration)
Rich Sniscak (2018) G. Kennedy Greene (2018)
Leah Christman (2017) Joseph Roy (2017)
Mary Anne Wright (2016) Michael George (2016)
Mark Klein (2015) Samuel Varano (2015)
Sandra Fellin (2014) Raymond Boccuti (2014)
Thomas Seidenberger (2013) Joseph Roy (2013)
Joe Liberati (2012) Bridgette O’Connell (2012)
Louise Donohue  (2011) Jack Silva (2011)
Charlie Amuso (2010) Rachel Holler (2010)
Beverly Martin (2009) Debra Miller (2009)
William Haberl (2008) Louise Donohue (2008)
Lawrence Mussoline (2007) Clyde Hornberger (2007)
Lee Fredericks (2006)  

"We need to be proactive and not necessarily wait for parents to ask if their child needs something more. We're going to go out and find those kids and make sure they're getting what they need."

Saucon Valley School Superintendent Monica McHale-Small, LUSSC Member